About Us

We started our company in 2010, as a result of a master’s degree thesis project and a group of really dedicated people who share our vision. We are still family owned and operated, and try to always keep our family feel.

Our culture is less “corporate” and more creative. Our building walls are brightly colored, windows are tilted on angle, and we have an air conditioned warehouse for our employees. We cook lunch for everyone every day with our full-time cook, have massage days, and celebrate our successes. In short, we have personality, and it shows not only in our brands, and our building, but also our people.

Our brands are a reflection of our personality. We wanted first and foremost high quality, exceptional style with our bottles and labels, and to be offered at a reasonable and fair price. As a result, we created great tasting brands. Each brand has a story behind them based on where we have lived and people who have transformed our lives. We hope you join our journey to these places and share our vision.

Owners

Merrilee
Merrilee Kick created the BuzzBallz concept and founded the company in Carrollton, Texas with the goal to revolutionize the world of mixed drinks. She had the idea to make new, unbreakable containers so she invented the first plastic beverage ‘can’ sold in the USA. Her thought was to create a product that was safe for all activities like the beach, pool, camping, or tailgating with drinks prepared like you would make them at home with real juice and natural ingredients. She wanted customers to be able to purchase ‘by the drink’ and mix and match flavors without being forced to buy a 4 or 6-pack. Lastly, she wanted a good, strong drink that isn’t watered down-one strong enough to put you in the party spirit. In 2016, she transformed the company to complement the ready-to- drink part of the business. Southern Champion has a broader scope and utilizes the talents and equipment to create spirit and wine lines with a focus on premium brands with exceptional style.

Alex
Alex, part owner and founder, helped design the BuzzBallz concept. He has been involved in the company since its conception by assisting in the development of flavors and marketing strategies. He oversees all aspects of the business and is involved in many of the day-to day operations of the company. Alex works at the BuzzBallz headquarters in Carrollton, TX and is always looking for new ventures and business partners.

Andrew
Andrew, part owner and founder, helped develop many of the flavors and contributed to the revolutionary way BuzzBallz separates itself from the rest of its competitors. He has been involved in every aspect of the company offering him valuable experience on how to adapt in new or unknown work environments. Andrew has taken this experience and applied it to his position as a sales representative within the company. He also works extensively with product development and brainstorming new ideas that could possibly transform the alcohol industry.

OUR TEAM

President/CEO

Merrilee Kick
kick@southern-champion.com

Vice Presidents

Alex Kick
alexkick@southern-champion.com
Andrew Kick
andrewkick@southern-champion.com
California

Shipping/Receiving/POS

Tina Roosmalen
tina.roosmalen@southern-champion.com
Main Office: 972-242-3777

Plant Manager

Cheo Cavil
cheo.cavil@southern-champion.com
Main Office: 972-242-3777

Legal Counsel

Charles Irvin
charles.irvin@southern-champion.com
Main Office: 972-242-3777

Billing/Invoicing

admin@southern-champion.com
Main Office: 972-242-3777

 

Sales Team

Blair Casey, VP Sales/Marketing
blair.casey@southern-champion.com

Phil Musser, Sales Director

phil.musser@southern-champion.com
Nebraska, Kansas, Kentucky

Whitney Elliott, National Accounts Sales Manager
whitney.elliott@southern-champion.com
Arkansas

Meagen Howard,  Off-Premise Sales Manager
meagen.howard@southern-champion.com

Bradley Cooper, Brand Development Manager
brad.cooper@southern-champion.com
Pricing, Incentives, Michigan, Illinois, Minnesota, Wisconsin

Darren Summers, Sales Manager
darren.summers@southern-champion.com
Louisiana, Missouri, Indiana, Ohio, New York, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, Hawaii

Stuart Freiner, International Sales
stuart.freiner@southern-champion.com
International, Bermuda, Texas, Colorado

Nanci McCook, Sales Manager
nanci@southern-champion.com
Alabama, Florida, Tennessee, South Carolina, Iowa, North Dakota, South Dakota, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wyoming, Oklahoma, Mississippi, Utah

Darolyn Skelton, Sales Manager
darolyn.skelton@southern-champion.com
New Mexico, Arizona, Nevada, Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Montana

 

2114 McDaniel Drive
Carrollton, TX 75006

info@southern-champion.com

877-891-3777
972-242-3777